Thanks guys. Appreciate the answers! But don't that make it sound like the pitcher takes all? I mean should it not red...I dunno that the Tigers are 15-6 or whatever? I think I've confused myself. Thanks again. More stupid questions to follow...
Wins (and losses) also appear in the team's record; however, pitchers have their own win-loss record because they may be relieved during a game.
The "winning" pitcher is the pitcher who last pitched before the half-inning in which his team took the lead for the last time. However, the starting pitcher will not be credited with a win if he is relieved before he has played at least five innings.**
The "losing" pitcher is one who allows the opposing team to score a run which gives them a lead they keep for the rest of the game.
If that pitcher is relieved after allowing a runner to get on base, he will be credited with a loss if that same runner goes on to score a run which gives the other team a lead they do not relinquish; the relieved pitcher is responsible because he allowed the runner to get on base in the first place, even if he doesn't allow the same runner to score a run.
I think that's how it works, anyway; I may have over-simplified it. I'm sure Kelzzy and Nebo will correct me if I'm wrong!
**There's another rule regarding winning pitchers, but I can't remember what it is.