Confused Limey - Baseball Forum - MLB Forum - Fantasy & College Baseball Forums
BaseballForum.com is the premier forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Reply

 

Old 10-26-2012, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Little Leaguer
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
UK_Yankee is on a distinguished road
Default Confused Limey

Right. I'm loving the game if Baseball and I've got most if the stats and abbreviations down. However, when reading about pitchers or watching a game I come up with things like " he's 15-6 in 26apperaences..." I made that up but those in the know will...er...know? What is this stat about what so the two number separated by a dash mean? It's driving me nuts! Go easy. I'm a newbie.

Thanks!
UK_Yankee is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 10-26-2012, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
King K
 
Kelzzy's Avatar
 
Fave Player: Crawford
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ova' Yonda
Posts: 5,377
Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar
Default

Hahahaha don't worry, you're not the first to ask this

The dash, -, represents the Wins from the loses. It makes it much easier and faster to read and write then having to say "15 wins and 16 losses". Instead, you just write 15-6, meaning he has 15 wins and 6 losses.

Did that help? I'm always here for more questions!
__________________

24/7 Worldwide News
Kelzzy is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
WBC Expert
 
Nebo86's Avatar
 
Fave Player: Albert Pujols
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,994
Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK_Yankee View Post
Right. I'm loving the game if Baseball and I've got most if the stats and abbreviations down. However, when reading about pitchers or watching a game I come up with things like " he's 15-6 in 26apperaences..." I made that up but those in the know will...er...know? What is this stat about what so the two number separated by a dash mean? It's driving me nuts! Go easy. I'm a newbie.

Thanks!
First of all, welcome to the forum. Kelzzy is correct, and if you are asking yourself why 15 wins & 6 losses don't add up to 26 appearances it's because some appearances are "no decisions". For the most part, if a pitcher is removed from a tied game, he won't get credit for a win or loss.
__________________

Twitter: Global Baseball News @nebo86
Nouvelles de Baseball International * Titulares de Béisbol Internacional * Notizie di Baseball Internazionale
Notícias Internacionais de Beisebol * Internationaal Honkbal Nieuws
Nebo86 is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
King K
 
Kelzzy's Avatar
 
Fave Player: Crawford
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ova' Yonda
Posts: 5,377
Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar Kelzzy Baseball Forum Superstar
Default

Ah yes, Nebo is right there as well.
__________________

24/7 Worldwide News
Kelzzy is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Little Leaguer
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
UK_Yankee is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks guys. Appreciate the answers! But don't that make it sound like the pitcher takes all? I mean should it not red...I dunno that the Tigers are 15-6 or whatever? I think I've confused myself. Thanks again. More stupid questions to follow...
UK_Yankee is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Double A
 
Hank Greenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 405
Hank Greenberg is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK_Yankee View Post
Thanks guys. Appreciate the answers! But don't that make it sound like the pitcher takes all? I mean should it not red...I dunno that the Tigers are 15-6 or whatever? I think I've confused myself. Thanks again. More stupid questions to follow...
Wins (and losses) also appear in the team's record; however, pitchers have their own win-loss record because they may be relieved during a game.

The "winning" pitcher is the pitcher who last pitched before the half-inning in which his team took the lead for the last time. However, the starting pitcher will not be credited with a win if he is relieved before he has played at least five innings.**

The "losing" pitcher is one who allows the opposing team to score a run which gives them a lead they keep for the rest of the game.
If that pitcher is relieved after allowing a runner to get on base, he will be credited with a loss if that same runner goes on to score a run which gives the other team a lead they do not relinquish; the relieved pitcher is responsible because he allowed the runner to get on base in the first place, even if he doesn't allow the same runner to score a run.

I think that's how it works, anyway; I may have over-simplified it. I'm sure Kelzzy and Nebo will correct me if I'm wrong!

**There's another rule regarding winning pitchers, but I can't remember what it is.
__________________
Hank Greenberg is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Double A
 
Hank Greenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 405
Hank Greenberg is on a distinguished road
Default

Check out this book; it's small, but it explains everything you need to know about baseball.

Baseball Field Guide: An In-depth, Illustrated Guide to the Complete Rules of Baseball: Amazon.co.uk: Dan Formosa, Paul Hamburger: Books
__________________
Hank Greenberg is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Double A
 
Hank Greenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 405
Hank Greenberg is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank Greenberg View Post
Check out this book; it's small, but it explains everything you need to know about baseball.

Baseball Field Guide: An In-depth, Illustrated Guide to the Complete Rules of Baseball: Amazon.co.uk: Dan Formosa, Paul Hamburger: Books
Well, it explains everything except for that other rule about winning pitchers...!
__________________
Hank Greenberg is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
WBC Expert
 
Nebo86's Avatar
 
Fave Player: Albert Pujols
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,994
Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar Nebo86 Baseball Forum Superstar
Default

Alright let's take a look at the Official rules to clear things up:

Quote:
10.17 WINNING AND LOSING PITCHER
(a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless

(1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or

(2) Rule 10.17(c) applies.
Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher.

(b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed

(1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or

(2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.

Rule 10.17(b) Comment: It is the intent of Rule 10.17(b) that a relief pitcher pitch at least one complete inning or pitch when a crucial out is made, within the context of the game (including the score), in order to be credited as the winning pitcher. If the first relief pitcher pitches effectively, the official scorer should not presumptively credit that pitcher with the win, because the rule requires that the win be
credited to the pitcher who was the most effective, and a subsequent relief pitcher may have been most effective. The official scorer, in determining which relief pitcher was the most effective, should consider the number of runs, earned runs and base runners given up by each relief pitcher and the context of the game at the time of each relief pitcher’s appearance. If two or more relief pitchers were similarly
effective, the official scorer should give the presumption to the earlier pitcher as the winning pitcher.

(c) The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead. In such a case, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the succeeding relief pitcher who was most effective, in the judgment of the official scorer.

Rule 10.17(c) Comment: The official scorer generally should, but is not required to, consider the appearance of a relief pitcher to be ineffective and brief if such relief pitcher pitches less than one inning and allows two or more earned runs to score (even if such runs are charged to a previous pitcher). Rule 10.17(b) Comment provides guidance on choosing the winning pitcher from among several succeeding relief pitchers.

(d) A losing pitcher is a pitcher who is responsible for the run that gives the winning team a lead that the winning team does not relinquish.
Rule 10.17(d) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the losing pitcher is concerned.

(e) A league may designate a non-championship game (for example, the Major League All-Star Game) for which Rules 10.17(a)(1) and 10.17(b) do not apply. In such games, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless such pitcher is knocked out after the winning team has attained a commanding lead and the official scorer concludes that a subsequent pitcher is
entitled to credit as the winning pitcher
MLB's Official Baseball Rules @http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/downloads/y2012/Official_Baseball_Rules.pdf
__________________

Twitter: Global Baseball News @nebo86
Nouvelles de Baseball International * Titulares de Béisbol Internacional * Notizie di Baseball Internazionale
Notícias Internacionais de Beisebol * Internationaal Honkbal Nieuws
Nebo86 is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


VerticalSports
Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums
Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Powered by vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2009 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios